

LSF Australia 2023 AGM Minutes

Meeting Details:

Date: Sunday, 11th June 2023 at 5:30pm AEST

Venue: Jerilderie Racecourse Hall. Note: meeting was recorded.

Attendance: Mike O'Reilly, Jim Houdalakis, Terry Passalaqua, Daniel Haskell, Gerry Carter, Scott Lennon, Chris Adams, Mark Stone, Tom Clifford, Mark Burne, Philip Stevenson, Simon Morris, Theo Arvanitakis, Rodney Watkins, Jack Murphy, Bruce Clapperton, Chris Barrenger, Marcus Stent, Bjorn Rudgley, Matt Lowe, Nicholas Chabrel (and Beth), Guy Brand, Jan Schilling, Klaus Metzger, Andrew Meyer, Ladislav Safarik, Hutton Oddy, Carl Strautins, Robert Gunn

2022-2023 Committee

Mike O'Reilly - President

Gerry Carter – Treasurer

Daniel Haskell – Secretary

Jim Houdalakis – Executive Officer

Ladislav Safarik – LSF Levels Registrar

Darrel Blow - Committee Member

Chris Adams - Web Master

Robert Gunn – Contest Director

Meeting commenced 5:30 pm AEST. Mike O'Reilly agreed to act as Chairperson for the meeting.

1. Apologies:

Darrel Blow

2. Confirmation of Previous Minutes

- To confirm the minutes of the previous annual general meeting and of any special general meeting held since then; This was confirmed.
 - Moved Daniel Haskell, seconded Klaus Metzger, all in favour carried unanimously.

3. President's Report

- Refer attached
- Moved for acceptance by Mike O'Reilly, seconded Chris Barrenger, all in favour carried unanimously.

4. Financial Report

- to receive and consider (refer to attached financial statement)
 - the annual report of the Committee on the activities of the Association during the preceding financial year; and
 - Moved for acceptance by Chris Adams, seconded Matt Lowe, all in favour carried unanimously.

5. Secretaries Report

- Reflection on how the competition had changed over the last period with the introduction of F5J as a core event
- Noted how easy it is to be a Committee member now with
 - No Lions Club to organise
 - No set up and set down and arranging the dinner at the Shire Hall
 - No mass printing of score sheets Thanks to the wonderful GliderScore
 - Direct entry of scores
 - No toilet to organise
 - No requirement for face-to-face meetings
- Daniel Haskell encouraged people to consider standing for the committee

6. Registrar's Report

- Ladislav Safarik advised that there had been no formal activity.
- He encouraged members to continue to improve Levels and use events like this to count towards their level achievement.
- Ladislav Safarik will write to Wally (registrar/President USA) in the US to see if the Goal and Return task could be modified given the challenges with compliance.
 Perhaps a GPS type triangular course?

7. General Business

- Mike O'Reilly noted that it was moved and carried many years ago that the LSF support glider teams travelling overseas to World Championships and we have post Covid, a 5J team, a 3B team and a 3F team travelling to WC's. Mike O'Reilly asked for someone to move that we do what we have always done by supporting each of these teams with a donation of \$750. Simon Morris moved this motion and it was seconded by Jan Schilling. all in favour, carried unanimously.
- Mike O'Reilly noted that the F5J team had received \$460 from donations of pilots competing at this event
- Discussion on the number of events currently in the Annual Tournament and if three events was too many.
- Motion from Marcus Stent that the that the 2m electric glider event at Jerilderie change from F5L (back) to the Australian AEFA rules for the upcoming LSF annual tournament. This motion was withdrawn by Marcus Stent.
- Motion from Chris Adams that the format for the 2024 Annual Tournament include two
 events namely F5J and Open Thermal. Seconded Rod Watkins, all in favour, carried
 unanimously.

- Mike O'Reilly noted that the LSF had been attending Jerilderie from 1977 and that there had been some discussion over the weekend as to whether the LSF had outgrown Jerilderie or vice versa. General discussion on this followed.
- Mike O'Reilly put the motion that an investigative committee be formed to explore the pros
 and cons of location options for the LSF Annual Tournament. This would include Jerilderie,
 West Wyalong and any other suitable flying sites. The incoming committee would consider
 this advice and be empowered to decide on location on behalf of the members. Moved by
 Bjorn Rudgley, Seconded Matt Lowe, all in favour carried unanimously
- Mike O'Reilly noted that there will be an F3J WC in Norway 2024 and the LSF will be tasked with arranging the team trial. The incoming committee will need to call for expressions of interest and ensure adequate preparation time for the selected team.
- Marcus Stent noted that 3 man teams would allow for more rounds. Mike O'Reilly noted
 that the space limitations at Jerilderie had made that challenging but this could be
 considered by the incoming committee.

8. Election of new Committee

- Mike O'Reilly thanked all members of the committee and noted that the current executive (President, Secretary and Treasurer) would not renominate this year and encouraged members to nominate.
- Mike O'Reilly declared all positions vacant and called for nominations for;
 - President. No nominations were received, and it was agreed to move this election to Monday after flying. Mike O'Reilly agreed to remain as caretaker President until then.
 - Treasurer. A nomination for this position was received from Rodney Watkins. This
 nomination was seconded by Mike O'Reilly, all in favour, carried unanimously
 - Secretary. No nominations were received, and it was agreed to move this election to Monday after flying. Daniel Haskell agreed to remain as caretaker Secretary until then.
- Nominations for ordinary members received prior to the meeting were;
 - Ladislav Safarik, seconded Daniel Haskell, carried unanimously
 - Jim Houdalakis, seconded Mike O'Reilly, carried unanimously
 - Chris Adams, seconded Gerry Carter, carried unanimously
 - Darrel Blow, seconded Jim Houdalakis, carried unanimously
 - Robert Gunn, seconded Ladislav Safarik, carried unanimously

Meeting adjourned 6:00pm AEST

Resumption of meeting to elect President and Secretary.

Jerilderie Racecourse – Monday 12th June 2023 – 12:50pm

 Mike O'Reilly declared positions of President and Secretary vacant and called for nominations for;

- President. Nicholas Chabrel nominated for the position of President. No further nominations received. Seconded by Mike O'Reilly, all in favour, carried unanimously.
- Secretary. Philip Stevenson nominated for the position of Secretary. No further nominations received. Seconded by Mike O'Reilly, all in favour, carried unanimously.
- Moved Robert Gunn, seconded Simon Morris To remove Michael O'Reilly, Daniel Haskell and Gerry Carter as authorised bank account signatories and to replace them with the incoming President, Nicholas Marcel Chabrel, Secretary, Philip Harold Stevenson and Treasurer, Rodney Paul Watkins. All in favour, carried unanimously.

The 2023-2024 Committee is;

Nicholas Chabrel – President

Rodney Watkins – *Treasurer*

Philip Stevenson – *Secretary*

Jim Houdalakis – Executive Officer

Ladislav Safarik – LSF Levels Registrar

Darrel Blow - Committee Member

Chris Adams - Web Master

Robert Gunn – Contest Director

Meeting Closed at 1:10pm Monday 12th June 2023